Posted Chapter 11–the rescue from Buchenwald

January 1, 2008 at 10:19 pm (429th Fighter Squadron, 474th Fighter Group, Buchenwald, Fighter Pilot, Joe Moser, P-38, Stalag Luft III)

Here finally is chapter 11. It tells of the Luftwaffe rescue of Joe and his fellow fliers from Buchenwald all the way into getting assigned to Block 104 in Stalag Luft III in Sagan–now in Poland. Block 104 just happens to be the most famous POW barracks in all of history I believe–and not just because that is where Joe lived. But rather because seven months before Joe arrived, that same barracks was the starting point for the greatest escape in history–yes the very same barracks from which the tunnel “Harry” was started and through which 76 POWs made their escape. It is just one more of the fascinating little details of Joe Moser’s experiences during the war. Another fascinating little detail is the story of his POW identity card. I feel so privileged to hold a treasure like this in my very hands as I write this story. Not quite a sliver of the cross, but there is a sense of sacredness about it. For it too symbolizes not just Joe’s trials and sufferings, but in some way the suffering, death and horrors experienced by so many in those dark, dark days.

It is such a thrill to me to hear from readers of this site. I know that there are many more who visit here than comment because I see the traffic, but when I get a question like that of Pat McGregor from the UK it is just a great joy. So, any of you doing research about these aspects of WWII, or know of any of those who might be involved, I’d love to hear from you. Frank Moser, Joe’s brother, also recently told me of family members who are reading the chapters here (although Frank says he’s waiting for the whole story to be finished before reading it). If you are visiting occasionally, I’d love to hear from  you. Just hit the comment button and say hi if nothing else.

3 Comments

  1. Marlene McClain said,

    I too grew up in Ferndale. Heard about the book through my brother Gerald Widman. Gerald worked for Frank Moser for awhile. My question about chapter 11, surely Joe got a shower after arriving at Stalag Lufte III. Joe’s reaction to that would be interesting reading. Maybe. Have enjoyed all the chapters and comments thus far and am looking forward to a printed copy. Thank you for the story.

  2. gbaron said,

    Good question, Marlene. I just got with Joe a couple of days ago and discussed in some more detail this part of the story. I don’t believe he got a shower immediately as those times were apparently scheduled as well. He said while in POW camp they showered at most once a week. While I didn’t ask him (and I will) when he got his first shower after Buchenwald, I’m guessing based on that information that it was within the first few days after he arrived but not right away as it was evening then.

    Glad to hear you are following along and please suggest other questions for me to discuss with Joe. Did your brother work for Joe at Andgar doing furnace work?

  3. GENE WESTERMAN said,

    SEARCHING FOR ANYBODY THAT HAS ANY INFO ABOUT A CAPT. EDWARD L. SENSOR WHO WAS GUEST OF THE GERMANS AT STALAG III. HIS HOME TOWN WAS ELGIN, IL. IF ANYONE KNEW OF HIM, PLEASE CONTACT ME. THANK YOU.
    SORRY TO REPORT THAT cAPT SENSOR PASSED AWAY ON 21 DEC. 2001. AT THAT TIME HE WAS LIVING IN ROCKFORD, IL.
    THANK YOU FOR READING THIS ARTICLE.

Leave a Reply

