Chapter 2 posted

March 19, 2007 at 3:25 pm (429th Fighter Squadron, 474th Fighter Group, Buchenwald, Fighter Pilot, French Underground, Joe Moser, P-38, Stalag Luft III, Uncategorized)

Yesterday (Sunday) I wrote draft one of chapter 2. It tells the story of Joe from the time he bailed out of his P-38 to his capture by the Germans a short time later. I basically wrote this all in one piece in about an hour and a half. Sometimes it just flows and you can’t type fast enough to keep ahead of the story that is being told in your head. Joe has given me the basic facts and from that I try and reconstruct the scene, the actions, the thoughts that go with those facts. Google Earth helps tremendously because I can see what the country was like and the town and get my bearings relating to where his base was, etc.

If you read chapter 2 beforeI have a chance to work it over with Joe, I just need to warn you that some of the details are certain to change. For example, the direction he ran, the specifics of how he was captured, when he was separated from his two young rescuers, etc.

Joe reviewed chapter 1 and said there were only a couple of small details to change. Chapter 2 will require more changes. When I asked Joe what he thought of Chapter 1 characteristically he said, “It was great, I just don’t know who you are writing about.” I said, “What do you mean, it isn’t accurate?” He said, no, it was accurate, and I know that he just means it feels strange for him to be the subject when it is written in more of a narrative form. I think he meant to say that it reads like a book but with him as the hero and that feels strange. So, I took it as a compliment.

Leave a Reply

